Michael Kos 71 - MEMORY BOX



Michael Kos was born in Villach in 1943 and studied in Vienna from 1986 to 1991 at the University of Applied Arts with Peter Weibel. Today the artist lives and works in Vienna and Retz in Lower Austria.


In his œuvre Michael Kos brings together questions of art, politics, society, religion, economy and morality. His artistic intention is one of critical clarification. Aspects of social reality are recurrently analysed on the basis of a political subtext. The artistic will to create follows a conceptual sculptural practice. The plastic, the constructing and building, material and space are central categories of the work. The artistic actions are often concise, and the methods are unspectacular and simple. The statement does not require a complicated, but rather a concise form. The work in the Burgkapelle is also guided by this practice.


With the help of a minimalist vocabulary and linguistic signs, a sober, white, geometric space within the room is created, dedicated to the victims of the refugee tragedy that took place near Parndorf in Burgenland in August 2015. When 71 people from Syria, Iraq and Iran suffocated in agony in a blocked refrigerated truck on the way to Austria. Michael Kos creates an installation that not only recalls a still unresolved, urgently virulent problem, which in times of the pandemic has somewhat lost its socio-political focus, but which at the same time, as an artistic installation in the former baroque chapel – in the confrontation with the situational spatial conditions as well as the content of the Christian sacred space – becomes an object of diverse reflections.





Christine Wetzlinger-Grundnig







Fahne Kos_187lang.jpg

Museum Moderner Kunst Kärnten • Burggasse 8 • 9020 Klagenfurt, Austria • ++43(0)50.536.34112 • office.museum@ktn.gv.at

Michael Kos 71 - MEMORY BOX



Michael Kos ist 1963 in Villach geboren und hat von 1986 bis 1991 in Wien an der Universität für angewandte Kunst bei Peter Weibel studiert. Heute lebt und arbeitet der Künstler in Wien und Retz in Niederösterreich.


Michael Kos führt in seinem Œuvre Fragestellungen von Kunst, Politik, Gesellschaft, Religion, Wirtschaft und Moral zusammen. Seine künstlerische Intention ist eine aufklärend-kritische. Immer wieder werden auf der Basis eines politischen Subtextes Aspekte der sozialen Wirklichkeit analysiert. Der künstlerische Gestaltungswille folgt einer konzeptuellen bildhauerischen Praxis. Das Plastische, das Konstruieren und Bauen, Material und Raum sind zentrale Kategorien der Arbeit. Dabei sind die künstlerischen Handlungen oft knapp gesetzt, und die Methoden sind unspektakulär und einfach. Die Aussage bedarf keiner komplizierten, vielmehr einer prägnanten Gestalt. Von dieser Praxis ist auch die Arbeit in der Burgkapelle geleitet.


Mithilfe eines minimalistischen Vokabulars und sprachlicher Zeichen, entsteht ein nüchterner, weißer, geometrischer Raum im Raum, der den Opfern der Flüchtlingstragödie, die sich im August 2015 bei Parndorf im Burgenland ereignet hat, gewidmet ist. Als 71 Menschen aus Syrien, dem Irak und Iran in einem versperrten Kühllastwagen, auf dem Weg nach Österreich, qualvoll erstickt sind. Michael Kos schafft eine Installation, die nicht nur eine immer noch unbewältigte, dringlich-virulente Problematik in Erinnerung ruft, die in Zeiten der Pandemie etwas aus dem gesellschaftspolitischen Fokus geraten ist, sondern die zugleich, als künstlerische Installation in der ehemaligen barocken Kapelle – in der Konfrontation mit den situativen räumlichen Verhältnissen wie inhaltlichen Bestimmungen des christlichen Sakralraums – zu einem Objekt vielfältiger Reflexionen wird.




Christine Wetzlinger-Grundnig







Fahne Kos_187lang.jpg

Museum Moderner Kunst Kärnten • Burggasse 8 • 9020 Klagenfurt, Austria • ++43(0)50.536.34112 • office.museum@ktn.gv.at