fokus sammlung 06
ABSTRAKT. Geometrie + Konzept




In the series 'fokus sammlung' [focus collection], which regularly presents themed exhibitions from the holdings of the Art Collection of the Federal Province of Carinthia/MMKK, after having already dealt with the major topics of painting – landscape, images of mankind, depictions of animals, and still life – in exhibitions and publications, the Museum of Modern Art Carinthia now devotes itself to the wide-ranging and heterogeneous field of abstract art. Non-objective art, the important innovation of the 20th century, can be differentiated into two possible forms: the geometric-constructive and the lyrical-gestural variety.


In a first part, an exhibit subtitled 'Geometry and Concept' combines positions that relate to a systematic engagement with colour, form, surface, and space, are based on a logical-mathematical principle, and employ a minimalist visual vocabulary that is limited to elementary geometrical forms and a reduced colourfulness, which makes them echo the influential movements of constructivism and concrete art (of the first half of the 20th century) and the ensuing evolution of American colour field painting, minimal and optical art, as well as conceptual trends.


Even though Austrian art has not brought forth a coherent and vigorous movement in the field of abstraction over the past century and Austrian artists could no longer be found heading the genre's development, eminent individual efforts have emerged in the art and exhibition scene from time to time, quite a few of which have also found their way into the collections of the MMKK. Today we can draw from this pool and bring together works by prominent artists in this exhibition, such as Karl Hikade, Hermann Josef Painitz, Heimo Zobernig, Josef Dabernig, Esther Stocker, Martina Steckholzer, Thomas Baumann, Luisa Kasalicky, Manuel Knapp, Roland Kollnitz, Suse Krawagna, Sabina Hörtner, Mar Vicente, and many more.



Mag. Christine Wetzlinger-Grundnig



Participants artists:

Thomas BAUMANN | Isolde BAUMHACKL-OSWALD | Rudi BENETIK | Uwe BRESSNIK | Josef DABERNIG | Armin EBNER | Werner FEIERSINGER | Martin GANSBERGER | Karl HIKADE | Werner HOFMEISTER | Isabella HOLLAUF | Sabina HÖRTNER | Luisa KASALICKY | Manuel KNAPP | Edgar KNOOP | Peter KOGLER | Cornelius KOLIG | Roland KOLLNITZ | Günther KRAUS | Suse KRAWAGNA | Eric KRESSNIG | BHX Lohmer | Zorka L-WEISS | David MASE | Melitta MOSCHIK | Gerhardt MOSWITZER | Hermann Josef PAINITZ | Ferdinand PENKER | Viktor ROGY | RYU-GRUPPE | Meina SCHELLANDER | Martina STECKHOLZER | Pia STEIXNER | Esther STOCKER | Karin SULIMMA | Nita TANDON | Jochen TRAAR | Mar VICENTE | Reinfried WAGNER | Manfred WAKOLBINGER | Gertrud WEISS-RICHTER | Markus WILFLING | Heimo ZOBERNIG





EPA 16 Bogen Abstrakt_187.jpg

Museum Moderner Kunst Kärnten • Burggasse 8 • 9020 Klagenfurt, Austria • ++43(0)50.536.34112 • office.museum@ktn.gv.at

fokus sammlung 06
ABSTRAKT. Geometrie + Konzept


Im Rahmen der Reihe „fokus sammlung“, in der regelmäßig thematische Ausstellungen aus den Beständen der Kunstsammlung des Landes Kärnten/MMKK gezeigt werden, widmet sich das Museum Moderner Kunst Kärnten nun, nachdem die großen Themen der Malerei – Landschaft, Menschenbild, Tierdarstellung und Stillleben – bereits in Ausstellungen und Publikationen abgehandelt wurden, dem umfassenden und heterogenen Bereich des Abstrakten. Die ungegenständliche Kunst, die bedeutende Innovation des 20. Jahrhunderts, lässt sich in zwei Möglichkeitsformen unterscheiden: die geometrisch-konstruktive und die lyrisch-gestische Variante.


In einem ersten Teil werden in einer Schau mit dem Untertitel „Geometrie und Konzept“ Positionen zusammengefasst, die sich auf die systematische Auseinandersetzung mit Farbe, Form, Fläche und Raum beziehen, auf einem logisch-mathematischen Prinzip beruhen und sich eines minimalistischen bildnerischen Vokabulars bedienen, das auf geometrische Elementarformen sowie eine reduzierte Farbigkeit beschränkt ist und damit im Nachhall der stilbildenden Strömungen von Konstruktivismus und Konkreter Kunst (der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts) wie den darauf folgenden Entwicklungen von amerikanischer Farbfeldmalerei, Minimal und Optical Art sowie konzeptueller Tendenzen stehen.


Obzwar es in der österreichischen Kunst im Bereich der Geometrischen Abstraktion im vergangenen Jahrhundert keine stringente, durchschlagskräftige Bewegung gab und die österreichischen Künstler*innen nicht an der Entwicklungsspitze des Genres zu finden waren, tauchen punktuell immer wieder hervorragende Einzelleistungen im Kunst- und Ausstellungsbetrieb auf, von denen so manche auch Eingang in die Sammlung des MMKK gefunden haben. Aus diesem Fundus können wir heute schöpfen und haben für die Ausstellung Werke von namhaften Künstlerinnen und Künstlern versammelt, wie zum Beispiel von Karl Hikade, Hermann Josef Painitz, Heimo Zobernig, Josef Dabernig, Esther Stocker, Martina Steckholzer, Thomas Baumann, Luisa Kasalicky, Manuel Knapp, Roland Kollnitz, Suse Krawagna, Sabina Hörtner oder Mar Vicente und von vielen anderen mehr.


Mag. Christine Wetzlinger-Grundnig



Teilnehmende Künstler*innen:

Thomas BAUMANN | Isolde BAUMHACKL-OSWALD | Rudi BENETIK | Uwe BRESSNIK | Josef DABERNIG | Armin EBNER | Werner FEIERSINGER | Martin GANSBERGER | Karl HIKADE | Werner HOFMEISTER | Isabella HOLLAUF | Sabina HÖRTNER | Luisa KASALICKY | Manuel KNAPP | Edgar KNOOP | Peter KOGLER | Cornelius KOLIG | Roland KOLLNITZ | Günther KRAUS | Suse KRAWAGNA | Eric KRESSNIG | BHX Lohmer | Zorka L-WEISS | David MASE | Melitta MOSCHIK | Gerhardt MOSWITZER | Hermann Josef PAINITZ | Ferdinand PENKER | Viktor ROGY | RYU-GRUPPE | Meina SCHELLANDER | Martina STECKHOLZER | Pia STEIXNER | Esther STOCKER | Karin SULIMMA | Nita TANDON | Jochen TRAAR | Mar VICENTE | Reinfried WAGNER | Manfred WAKOLBINGER | Gertrud WEISS-RICHTER | Markus WILFLING | Heimo ZOBERNIG




EPA 16 Bogen Abstrakt_187.jpg


Museum Moderner Kunst Kärnten • Burggasse 8 • 9020 Klagenfurt, Austria • ++43(0)50.536.34112 • office.museum@ktn.gv.at